Bizz & BooBoo

A hippie mama doing her best!

My 2nd Pickle Adventure! September 5, 2011

Filed under: Canning,Food,Preserving,Recipes — bizzandbooboo @ 11:33 am
Tags: , , ,

Once of my very first posts on this blog was about my first time making pickles. I only made a few jars worth and they were a big hit, but there was some constructive criticism given by the family about how they could be better – so began my second pickle adventure!!

I heard that the local farm I often visit had organic pickling cukes for $1/pound – couldn’t pass this up! We went out and picked up several pounds!

BooBoo at the farm!

This time I decided to use the Garlic Dill Pickle recipe from a blog that I love – Food in Jars. I know my hubby loves strong flavors in his pickles and I liked this recipe because it uses cider vinegar instead of white distilled. I have heard that you can interchange the vinegar no matter what the recipe calls for – does anyone know if this is true? I am still too new at this to know!

As Bizz was washing all the cukes for me I worked on getting the water heated up, all the ingredients together and the jars prepped…

   

Here is the actual recipe that I followed from Food in Jars:

Garlic Dill Pickles
Makes approximately 8 pints (varies depending on size of cucumbers)
2 overflowing quarts of pickling cucumbers, sliced into fat coins
4 cups apple cider vinegar
4 cups water
5 tablespoons pickling salt
16 garlic cloves, peeled (2 per jar)
¼ teaspoon crushed red pepper per jar (2 teaspoons total)
1 teaspoon dill seed per jar (8 teaspoons total)
½ teaspoon black peppercorns per jar (4 teaspoons total)

Wash and slice the cucumbers.
In a large saucepot, combine vinegar, water and salt. Bring to a simmer.
Arrange jars on counter and dole out the spices to each. Pack the cucumber slices firmly into the jars. You don’t want to damage the cukes, but you do want them packed tight.
Pour the brine into the jar, leaving ½ inch headspace.
Wipe rims, apply lids and rings and process in a boiling water bath for 10 minutes.
When 10 minutes are up, promptly remove the jars from the pot and allow them to cool on the countertop. When the jars are cool, check the seals (by pushing/tapping on the lid).
Pickles can be stored in a cool, dry place for up to a year.
If you want to skip the boiling water process, these pickles are also wonderful as refrigerator pickles. Just pop the jars into the fridge once they’re cool.

Once the jars were cleaned and sterilized I filled each one with the dill, peppercorns, garlic and red pepper flakes!

Then I packed the cukes in each one. I wanted to try a variety to see how they each turned out, so I did a few in coins, a few whole and a few spears!

Once all the jars were packed I poured the hot brine into each one leaving 1/2″ headspace!

Then I used the new jar lifter I won in the Canning Across America giveaway to process them (Yes, they spelled my name wrong…)!!  Thank you Canning Across America!

And I ended up with beautiful jars of Garlic Dill Pickles…. once again we haven’t tried them yet. Letting them sit  for a while to get really flavorful – I will post an update once they have been taste-tested :)

Similar Posts:

My First Pickle Adventure

Hope you have a wonderful Labor Day! I am busy putting up some orange marmalade, plum jam…. and we’ll see what else :)

~Jesse

*This post was shared on Real Food Whole Health Fresh Bite Friday 9/9/2011!

*Shared on The Nourishing Gourmet Pennywise Platter 11/3/2011!

Oh – I also wanted to share — I recently joined swagbucks. And I think it is pretty cool that I can earn points to redeem for amazon gift cards and stuff here by doing surveys or watching tv clips and other stuff. If you are interested check it out here:


And if you do sign up please do it by going to *http://swagbucks.com/refer/bizzbooboo* so that I can get referral credit – if you have any questions about it – Please ASK! I am usually pretty leery of these things, but I am pretty happy with this so far :)

 

2 Responses to “My 2nd Pickle Adventure!”

  1. Mom Says:

    They look great, you’ll need to start working on entering things into the fair, Plan ahead as many things are made after the fair so things your making now would be entered next year. Keep the one that looks the neatest, clearest, etc etc. Some of the prizes are awesome. One year I won 12 pounds of shelled walnuts for my walnut cookies.


What are your thoughts?

