Bizz & BooBoo

A hippie mama doing her best!

GRUB this week – and what I’ve been doing with it! August 31, 2011

Filed under: Food,Gardening — bizzandbooboo @ 7:00 am
Tags: , , , , , ,

Yesterday was our bi-weekly GRUB CSA share pick up day! WooHoo!

Bizz and I headed out to the farm after his martial arts class while BooBoo stayed home with Daddy! Bizz went directly to the trampoline and proceeded to joyfully bounce while I leisurely picked out all of the amazing looking veggies for the week!

We received corn, eggplants, peppers, tomatoes, garlic, onions, squash, a melon and more! Plus as many cherry tomatoes as we could pick! I loaded up on the cherry tomatoes this week since it was a little easier to pick with BooBoo at home and Bizz on the trampoline!

 There are several different varieties of the cherry tomatoes and I made sure to get some of each!

Besides the obvious things we have been doing to enjoy our bi-weekly CSA bounty (popping cherry tomatoes as snacks, big bold cucumber/lettuce salads, fried squash and onions & garlic in everything) I thought I would share with you some of the things I am doing with the rest of it.

Last week I made amazing fries with the Bintje Yellow Potatoes (Check out this cool page I found on potatoes from The Cook’s Thesaurus)! Just chopped them up, coated with coconut oil and salt then baked. They were a big hit with everyone! And super easy to make!

    

I also had no idea what to do with all the eggplants we were getting, but I found a recipe for eggplant parmesan and made it one night – it was a huge hit. Now there are three of them in the freezer ready to pop in the oven at a moment’s notice!

 

The recipe and a post on making this along with how to make your own breadcrumbs will be forthcoming!

And with the bounty of peppers I cut a good portion of them up and froze them! I store them in an old yogurt container and I love to have them available to throw in when I am frying up some meat or potatoes or practically anything. I love the little hint of taste that peppers can give – and the smell alone while they are cooking is enough for me 🙂

  

This beautiful flower was growing among the cherry tomatoes at GRUB – I couldn’t resist capturing it with my camera, though I have no idea what it is!

**update – I’ve been informed it is a Clover Bloom – love it!!

~Jesse

This post was shared on Real Food Whole Health Fresh Bite Fridays on 9/2/2011!

Don’t forget – the Greenfeet Organic Produce & Nut Wash giveaway ends tonight at 11:59 PST – get your entries in!!!

 

What are your thoughts?

