Bizz & BooBoo

A hippie mama doing her best!

Homemade BreadCrumbs! September 12, 2011

Filed under: Food,Recipes — bizzandbooboo @ 8:41 am
Tags: , ,

These are so easy I can’t believe I’ve never made them until now!

I recently attended a cooking class and the instructor was teaching us how to cook liver! She mentioned that she always makes her own breadcrumbs and gave a quick synopsis of how to do it – and I knew that I would never buy breadcrumbs again!

I was making some eggplant parmesan and needed to bread the eggplant slices so I figured it was the perfect time to try out the homemade breadcrumbs.

I put as many slices of bread on my cookie sheet as fit – and put them in the oven at 350 degrees. You can use whatever you have – I had the last bits of a loaf of sourdough and a bunch of multi grain from our local bakery, Tin Roof Bakery!

Placed it in the oven for about 20 minutes and then checked on it every 5 mins or so to see if it was done. The timing will vary based on the type of bread you have and how fresh it already was. You basically want it to get super hard and have no moisture left in it!

You can’t really tell the difference – but below is after about 35 minutes of being in the oven, I flipped the pieces after the first 20 minutes.

Next I put all the pieces in my super duper food processor with a bunch of spices. I used oregano, parsley, garlic, onion, salt, pepper, some italian spice mix I had and some TJ’s 21 Seasoning Salute. Add more spices than you think you need so your breadcrumbs will be super tasty!

Then process until the consistency you want. I always end up with a few bigger chunks that don’t seem to want to break down, so I either sift them out or try to break them up in my fingers. Or just use them depending what recipe I am using 🙂

Then either store them in an airtight container (like a mason jar).

Or use them right up in a recipe (like eggplant parmesan!)


This is great to do with bread that is starting to get a little stale so you don’t have to throw it out! My goal is to always have some breadcrumbs on hand to use when needed, but I always seem to use them up quickly before I make another batch….

~Jesse

Similar Posts:

Cornbread Stuffing

Homemade Refried Beans

**This post was shared on my Gather Page 9/12/2011! If you don’t know what Gather is check it out, it’s a cool social site which lets you earn points by viewing and posting, the points can then be redeemed for cash or gift cards!!

*Shared on The Nourishing Gourmet Pennywise Platter Thursdays 10/20/2011!

 

What are your thoughts?

