Bizz & BooBoo

A hippie mama doing her best!

Putting Up Oranges! September 15, 2011

Filed under: Food,Freezing,Preserving — bizzandbooboo @ 7:00 am
Tags: , , , ,

I had a wonderful opportunity to glean some oranges in downtown Chico with some ladies whom I met through our local “Chico Garden Share” Facebook page! It is great to meet and spend time with people whom you feel like you “know” in the facebook world! And we got some wonderfully sweet and juicy oranges on our gleaning adventure!

It was a Saturday morning and after Bizz and I finished up at the farmer’s market we headed a few blocks over to get some oranges!

(Thank you Leslie from Performance Design & Landscape for the picture of me gleaning)

This is me - gleaning some oranges!

Bizz helped too!!

But mostly had to watch due to the height!

We ended up with a beautiful bounty of oranges (this is just a few of them).

Now what to do with them all… I decided to make orange juice, orange marmalade, and something with the peels…..

For the orange juice the whole family got involved in washing, peeling and juicing! It was sticky business.


I love how Bizz is watching Daddy out of the corner of his eye in this one!

I ended up with about 3 quarts of orange juice – one we drank right away and the others went in the freezer for another day.

Next up – orange marmalade… this is a first for me and it takes some time!

Here is a photo essay of the marmalade making… more info to come in a future post!

And now I have a bag full of orange peels and I know there are a lot of uses for them… I just have to figure out which one(s) to do! Hubby told me I was like a depression-era wife saving the peels to use also…. what can I say – I like to Reduce, Reuse, Recycle (since the song!)

Have a peachy orang-y day!

~Jesse

*Shared on my Gather Page 9/15/2011! If you don’t know what Gather is check it out, it’s a cool social site which lets you earn points by viewing and posting, the points can then be redeemed for cash or gift cards!!

*Shared on The Nourishing Gourmet Pennywise Platter 9/15/2011!

*Shared on Real Food Whole Heath Fresh Bites Friday 9/16/2011!

 

2 Responses to “Putting Up Oranges!”

  1. Sara Says:

    Oh wow. I’m so jealous of you Californians sometimes.

  2. […] from my Putting Up Peaches post were a great deal from Chaffin Family Farms, the oranges from my Putting Up Oranges post were gleaned downtown – cost some time and ladder climbing. I also recently got 2 big […]


What are your thoughts?

