Bizz & BooBoo

A hippie mama doing her best!

Coconut Macaroons – Fail, kind of. September 27, 2011

Filed under: Food,Recipes — bizzandbooboo @ 8:04 am
Tags: ,

After making carbonara for dinner the other night I was left with 4 egg yolks, as with anything I hate to waste food that is perfectly good. What can I do with 4 egg whites, what can I do?

Coconut Macaroons from Nourishing Traditions!!

So I pulled out my trusty Nourishing Traditions Cookbook (if you have never perused Nourishing Traditions – you must – it is a bible of sorts for real and traditional foods and how to prepare them!)

I found the macaroon recipe –

Macaroons

Yield: 2 dozen

  • 4 egg whites
  • pinch of sea salt
  • 2 tablespoons arrowroot powder
  • 1/2 cup maple syrup
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 2 cups commercial dried unsweetened coconut meat, finely cut

Directions: Line baking sheet with buttered parchment paper. Beat egg whites with salt until stiff peaks form. Beat in arrowroot and slowly beat in syrup and vanilla. Fold in coconut. Drop by spoonfuls on parchment paper. Bake at 300 degrees for about 1/2 hour until lightly browned. Turn oven down to 200 degrees and bake another hour or so until macaroons are completely dry & crisp. Let cool completely before removing from parchment paper.

Sounds easy enough right!

First I mixed my egg whites to stiff peaks with a pinch of sea salt!

Then I added in the arrowroot powder and mixed well, then added the syrup and vanilla. Though I had a hard time getting the syrup to “mix” well with the egg whites. The egg whites are so light and the syrup so heavy that it seems to want to just flow to the bottom – and I did not want to over-mix it and kill the fluffiness of the egg whites. So I mixed them in the best I could!

Finally it was time to fold in the coconut! The batter looked pretty good at this point.

Until I started to spoon it onto the cookie sheet.

The first few were okay, then they got really runny and did not stay together at all.

The batter was so runny after I had spooned 3/4 of them out that I got out some of the coconut chips I had and added them to make it stay together a little more.

This is what went into the oven, you can see the ones I added the coconut chips to that stayed together more and look clumpier:

And here was the finished product:

Thee upside was that they tasted pretty good – they were a little dry, I think I could have cooked them a little less at 200 degrees. But the kids loved them, as did hubby and I!

Maybe next time I will use half coconut chips and half finely cut coconut meat.

~Jesse

*Shared on Traditional Tuesdays: Nutritious & Delicious 9/27/2011!

*Shared on Nourishing Gourmet Pennywise Platter 9/29/2011!

*Shared on Real Food Whole Health Fresh Bites Friday 9/30/2011!

 

2 Responses to “Coconut Macaroons – Fail, kind of.”

  1. Heather Says:

    I made this recipe a couple of weeks ago myself. I think you just need to add a lot of extra coconut, which is what I did. Nourishing Traditions’ recipes are not always so well thought out. Do yourself a favor–get a big, old-fashioned cookbook, published int he ’30’s or ’40’s–new enough for the recipes to be written in modern format, with modern cooking methods (except the microwave, of course), but old enough for the ingredients to be real. I have one called the Encyclopedia of American Cookery that will tell you everything from the complete history of beer to how to deal with an icebox for refrigeration–and it has about 10 recipes for liver, because it was a regular feature on people’s tables still in 1942. Also, the sweet recipes tend to use a lot less sugar than modern ones. Mine was originally my great-grandma’s, but used bookstores and antique shops will have similar. And they won’t cost more than Nourishing Traditions does.

    • Thanks for the tip – going to try adding lots more coconut next time, and maybe a mixture of the chips and finely shredded… I will be on the lookout for one of those books 🙂


What are your thoughts?

